M.P.Birla Smarak Kosh
Students' Forum
School Transport

Nursery I & II

Priyamvada Birla Scholarship
Forgot Password ?
News Details
Ullas, the annual inter-school festival

November 19, 2016 was a fun-filled day at South Point School as it was the first day of the two-day celebration of Ullas, the annual inter-school festival. About eight hundred children from twenty one premier schools of Kolkata in the age group of 7 – 10 years participated in this joyous festival. Children from Sandipan, the free evening school run by South Point Foundation, also took part in one of the art events. Mr K. Damani, Trustee, South Point Education Society, lit the ceremonial lamp and declared the fest open. Some events like Sabz-e-Print (wrapping-paper making), Akriti (creative sculpting), Karateka (karate display), Ad-It (advertisement-making), Ta-Dhin-Ta (dances to folk songs) and Mixed Bag (a quiz comprising spelling & vocabulary, mathematical skill and general knowledge) were held in the school premises. The judges on the first day were Mr Tamal Krishna Goswami, Mr Bhaskar Lahiri, Mr Sauvik Chakraborty, Mr Somnath Palchowdhury, Mr Chitro Sen, Mr Souvik Misra, Ms Shayomita Dasgupta and Dr Arkadev Bhattacharya, all renowned personalities from different walks of life. The preliminary rounds for Kwizwiz (quiz) were also held on that day in school.

The second day of Ullas, our inter-school festival, was held on November 21, 2016 at G. D. Birla Sabhagar. Shri Abir Chatterjee, the renowned actor was the Chief Guest. The day started off with Kwizwiz (quiz). Mr Ryan Shaw was the Quiz Master. Other events of the day were Kavyanvali (Hindi/Bengali group recitation), Do-Re-Mi (Western vocal music) and Ghunghroo (dances to Indian classical/semi-classical songs). Ms Bijoylakshmi Barman, Ms Geeta Dubey, Mr Mainak Nag Chowdhury, Mr Nabarun Bose, Ms Alokparna Guha and Mr Kaushik Chakraborty, all eminent personalities, were the judges. South Point School bagged the maximum number of points and emerged the Champions. The young Pointers received the Championship Trophy, but being the host school, passed it on to the First Runner Up -The BSS School. Birla High School (Junior Section) being next in line, lifted the Runner Up Trophy. Individual trophies were also given to the children who won the first, second and third positions in each event held on that day.

Back to Archive